Match Point, the movie

17Oct06

This is an amazing sexy “thriller”. It’s about an incredibly stupid Irish tennis player. Moral of the story is do not let your emotions control you, instead control your emotions. When it the other way around you’ll definitely be in trouble. It’s about one of those people who cheats his wife. Speaking of cheating a hilarious story that comes into mind is RFJason‘s craigslist experiment. This is a very good lesson for all those motherfuckers who cheat their loved ones and getting involved with this sort of thing.

I cannot believe that a guy used his @microsoft.com email address to respond to this. Fucking moron. And he gave his phone number!!! What a loser. Here’s the relevant excerpt,

Jerry xxx

xxx@microsoft.com

NSA meeting, and if we hit things off well, may turn into a safe and ongoing NSA friendship. This of course is if you like what we give each other?lol I’m married and looking to fill the needs not being done at home. So if you’re still reading, look at my picture, and think about it? Me: 5’11” 160 lbs Hazel green eyes Blond hair Medium build Chat me: xxx @ Yahoo Thanks Jerry Cell # (206) 793-xxxx

I believe “NSA” means No Strings Attached. How could you do such a thing Jerry you sick fuck?

Back into the movie, Match Point is a good movie, I don’t think you want your money back for this movie.

5 Responses to “Match Point, the movie”

  1. OK. Ignoring your aside about the MS guy / craigslist thing. I was pretty unsettled by Match Point, actually… I’m not sure I really enjoyed it. It was a good movie, but I felt that the performances were a bit stilted, and the subject matter was pretty disturbing. Maybe I need to loosen up, but I didn’t really like the idea.

  2. I rented Match Point expecting something like Closer. I guess I’ll never know because I couldn’t get through the first forty minutes. For whatever reason it didn’t bring me in.

  3. Hmm… actually some people doesn’t like the subject matter, obviously. Andy, what I look in a film is something like how the director/producer/all the people involved in making a movie, put up a simple story in front of the viewer and weave all the characters together. The thing I enjoyed most about it is that the simple portray of British upperclass life style. That was a new experience for me.

    thehistorymajor: πŸ™‚

  4. Sure, I accept that some people won’t like the subject matter. It wasn’t only that – the feel of the film was stilted, the performances were not always great… I guess I’m not a Woody Allen fan either.
    Never mind – we can’t all enjoy all of the same movies! πŸ™‚

  5. Never mind – we can’t all enjoy all of the same movies!

    Indeed Andy, we all have differing likes and dislikes. And that’s why while thehistorymajor cramed all day before her miderm while I chain watched Inside Man and X Men 3 day before my midterm πŸ˜€

    FWIW, yes, I passed my midterm. It’s some kind of a mental relaxation to me although I don’t recommend it to anyone as a quick way to pass the exams πŸ˜‰


Leave a Reply

